Pansy - Isabella Macdonald Alden

connected books stack

Pansy Series & Connected Books

Pansy loved to continue the stories of her characters from book to book and from generation to generation.

Ester Reid and The Chautauqua Girls were known the world over and readers could hardly wait for the next book to find out what happened next. The books listed in a particular series often varied in promotional literature and advertisements over the years, but here are a few of the well-known series and pairs:

The Ester Ried Series

  • Ester Ried: Asleep and Awake (1870)
  • Julia Ried: Listening and Led (1872)
  • The King's Daughter (1873)
  • Wise and Otherwise (1873)
  • Ester Ried Yet Speaking (1883)
  • Ester Ried's Namesake (1906)

An Endless Chain connects these two series.

The Chautauqua Girls Series

  • Four Girls at Chautauqua (1876)
  • Chautauqua Girls at Home (1877)
  • Ruth Erskine's Crosses (1879)
  • Judge Burnham's Daughters (1888)
  • Ruth Erskine's Son (1907)
  • Four Mothers at Chautauqua (1913)


A Few "Connected Stories"

Little Fishers and Their Nets + Eighty-Seven

Chrissy's Endeavor + Her Associate Members

Household Puzzles + The Randolphs

Making Fate + Overruled

Aunt Hannah and Martha and John +
John Remington, Martyr

Miss Dee Dunmore Bryant + Twenty Minutes Late

Have we missed any Connected Stories? Email us at